Slowly She Wrote

DAILY PROMPT

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/slowly/

Slowly
Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt. 


“I never write my own papers, I pay someone else to write them,” she said.  I heard this as I was scratching out the rough draft of a 15-page essay for a college class. The era was late B.C., just before computers.

In those days I spent many Sundays in a library writing on a yellow legal pad. Only one library near me opened its doors on Sundays. Shortly before those doors opened at 1 p.m., a crowd gathered by the entrance. The place was packed and all tables were shared.

Once such Sunday, I happened to share a table with five high school students. One of the girls in the group began to stare at me. I sensed it before I looked up and caught her in the act.

She was unfazed. That’s when she made her comment about hiring out her writing assignments.

I guess I got slammed. I was expending senseless effort for no good reason. Perhaps she assumed I lacked the funds to hire out a writer. She could not imagine a reason to go through the agony of researching and writing on her own.

But I kept on moving the pen across the yellow sheets. Researching ideas, finding connections between ideas, and interjecting my own ideas into the mix was pleasurable. I love some of the sentences I have written even though no one else cares.

I wonder what happened to the young woman at the library. Did she discover that she couldn’t survive by her mouth alone? Did her job force her to begin communicating with the written word too? Maybe she married and/or divorced well and never needed job-seeking or job-keeping skills.

Or maybe she went on to become a best-selling author and I’m living in the blog dust. That would be something to write about.

2 responses to “Slowly She Wrote

  1. I think she wanted to hire you to write her paper. Don’t despair no matter what happened to her. One thing for sure is that she is probable manipulating someone to do something for her that she is suppose to do

  2. After all these years, I never thought of that! It’s possible. My tendency toward self-effacement would make me blind. Yet if she did want to hire me, she would have had little respect for the hired help. I saw it in her eyes.

Leave a Reply

