Get Back

DAILY PROMPT
Life After Blogs
Your life without a computer: what does it look like?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/life-after-blogs/

_________________________________________

Forgive me Father for I have sinned, it has been 10 weeks since my last blog post.

I really don’t feel too guilty. My blog is my greatest social media foray; limited and only somewhat consistent, but still a baptism into the computer culture.  For awhile I’ve been thinking about keeping my words to myself. If not completely, (hence this post!)  at least curtail my public spewing. So life without or a reduced computer usage is already my goal.

If I give in to abstinence, I would miss the machine. I can’t just run to it and ask who is dead or alive. Tell me more about a city or country I’m reading or thinking about. Tell me more about an author. Tell me if the library has a certain book. Just like entering a room to turn on a light switch when the power is out, and encountering darkness, I would feel startled at the deprivation.

My friend, my adversary. I would feel abandoned without his useful and senseless information. Even without an electrical outlet in the house, I guess I can’t keep my secretive and introverted self contained within my small room. There are no secrets and too many bread crumbs. There, you have more of me.

Leave a Reply

