Blogging For Nobody

DAILY PROMPT
Recently Acquired
What’s the most important (or interesting, or unexpected) thing about blogging you know today that you didn’t know a month ago?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/recently-acquired/


I have slowly discovered that I blog mainly for myself. This public outlet forces me to think more seriously about focusing my scattered ideas into a semi-coherent written form.

I find some pleasure in writing and enjoy rereading my old posts. Some posts embarrass, others decently flesh out an idea. I’m sure most of my writing makes sense and gives pleasure only to me.

Although I must admit that seeing visitors on my blog stats is kind of a thrill. The Sally Fields Oscar moment, “. . . you like me, right now, you really like me!”

Although I believe that WordPress skews my visitors. They must throw me a bone every now and then and auto click on my site just to string me along. Internet sites cry for content, content, more useless content. After all I’m writing my drivel for free and WordPress is buying it.

Also a chunk of my “likes” are linked to sites trying to sell me a money-making scheme by attracting a bigger audience. I ignore these claims and realize that these people don’t really like me.

Another recent revelation: I should stop being afraid of letting my friends read my blog. I have discovered that they won’t rush out and scrutinize every word as soon and as often as possible.

I should embark on a random blog-unveiling experiment. As I tell an acquaintance about my blog, I can watch their eyes glaze over with boredom and/or fear as I disclose my blog site location. Then they can only hope that I don’t quiz them on my blog’s content. Be careful what you ask for.

Leave a Reply

