Sixteen and Counting

Write a post inspired by your sixteenth birthday.

I was sixteen and neither sweet nor kissed. It had been a few years now that no one wanted to be around my mother and me. Mostly it was my mother, I was just collateral. She alienated everyone in our family by now. She made her best girlfriends turn away from her. My father stopped coming by to see me. He could have met me somewhere, I wouldn’t have told. Besides my mother didn’t care what I did and where I did it. But he didn’t come or call.

One of the most enjoyable evenings I spent when I was sixteen I spent in gluing together colored strips of contact paper into a huge chain. Each link represented one day until I turned 18 and could be free from her. I draped it all around the furniture of my room. She didn’t know or care about this odd bit of decorating. Removing one link gave me some comfort.

One time she told someone over the telephone that she could kill me if she wanted since she gave birth to me. I angrily confronted her later on. She said it was none of my business.

I survived to marry a great guy, have a great child, and write this blog. My biggest regret lies in my lack of a worthwhile career. Three out of four ain’t bad.

5 responses to “Sixteen and Counting

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  3. Pingback: Not so sweet sixteen | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: And this is why I lose my memories… | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

