Fright Night: No Need to Be Scared

Daily Prompt: Fright Night
Do you like being scared by books, films, and surprises? Describe the sensation of being scared, and why you love it — or don’t.

As long as I can remember, I have avoided horror books and films. I hate the sensation of being scared by the evil, pain, and suffering of other living beings, real or imagined.

I could not bring myself to watch any Titanic movie. I know what happened and the hell those people lived through runs through my head like a loop of film without actually entering any theater.

When I was a young teenager, I saw the film 2001: A Space Odyssey. To me it was a horror film. I didn’t sleep for two nights after I watched it. The slasher, blood and guts movies would truly do me in.

One trip to a haunted house, taught me to never enter a haunted house again. That and any roller coster ride.

I can’t visit the African American museum in Detroit despite the fact that I love museums. The same goes for a Holocaust museum. The horror that resides in those places is too much for me to confront. Those horrific acts run through my mind often enough, I need no reinforcement.

Due to the popularity of Steven King novels, I know the basic outline of some of his stories. I would not enjoy reading one of those books. I seek no additional frights.

I don’t need to magnify my fears by pursuing them in print, screen, or in any other fashion. I need no more. I scare myself enough.

2 responses to “Fright Night: No Need to Be Scared

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Yes, that is frightening! | Processing the life

Leave a Reply

