Rock Bottom Economics

I want to wear less clothing. Not that I care to become a nudist in any way or run about in my underwear.

I nearly bought another small dresser a few years ago but thought better of it.  I didn’t need more storage, I needed less clothes.  So many were worn out or so completely out of fashion that I would cause a few double takes on the street, and not in a good way.

So I did some serious weeding out and donated to charity or threw them out. Who needs dozens of t-shirts or pants?  You can’t possible wear them out.  Such a waste.

A friend of mine once said that he hit rock bottom.  Why? Because he discovered a hole in a pair of his pants.  He truly believed that this constituted rock bottom in the human condition.  If I find a hole in my clothing, I rejoice. I got my money’s worth. My goal is to edit my closet even more.

Is this a dangerous idea?  The economy needs more people to buy clothes and other things in order for it to rebound.  But the economy needs more people to save money in order for it to rebound.  Oh well, I always found philosophy more useful than economics.

Leave a Reply

